Paddy North Racing
46E Super Saloon
2011 - 2012 Season Reviews and Results
17 March 2012
South Island Super Saloon Championship
15 March 2012
Marlborough Express
3 March 2012
Elf Super Cup Round Five   -   Cromwell
2 March 2012
Elf Super Cup Round Four   -   Dunedin
11 February 2012
Elf Super Cup Round Three   -   Woodford Glen
28 January 2012
Midget Triple Crown Meeting   -   Woodford Glen
25 January 2012
Blenheim Sun
21 January 2012
Super Saloon Hoopla   -   Woodford Glen
20 January 2012
NZ Super Saloon Grand Prix
NZ Super Saloon Champs Review
NZ Champs Nelson - Another year and some more if onlys

Well after the false start on Friday with the rain gods playing their part just when the first heat went on track, we got a good qualifying night on Saturday with a good two lane track and some great race action. After my three heats in the black group I was tied on points for 6th spot with Steve Williams so a 4 lap run off was needed to determine the last qualifier from black group. I drew outside line and after beating Steve into the first corner I shut it down on the pole so if he was going to beat me he need to go round the high side, I managed to keep it tidy for the four laps making it to the finals Sunday night without the need for going thru the repechage, lucky for Steve he won the repechage and also made it to Sunday.

Sunday brought a pretty hot day and with a 4pm start rather than the usual 7pm. Given the time of day and the hammering the track got the night previous we were in for a pretty slick track deal. As it turned out it was extremely dusty (dangerously dusty - very minimal to zero vision for the cars down the rear of the field. Still a two lane race track early in the heats but only for a few laps.

We got of to a good stat with a 2nd place in the first heat from grid 3. That's about where the fun stopped. At the start of my 2nd heat from grid 13 we hit from behind and spun off onto the infield. Given that we were off the track the ref did not put the yellow light on, by the time I restarted we had gone a lap down. I decided to box on and made up 7 spots however we were still a lap down so they didn't count for much in terms of points. I do note however ( as I try to take some positives away from the meeting) that if we had rejoined the race in my original position - Grid 13 and still made the 7 spots the points from that would have tied us in first overall with Steve Flynn the eventual winner. However there are also 17 other drivers with a list of what if's and hard luck stories as well. And I guess this is why we all keep coming back for more!!

Anyway the third heat was pretty difficult for passing and we managed to make up 4 spots from grid 16 to finish grid 12. We finished the night in 9th spot (9nz? - na not quite the same).

Overall I was reasonably happy, I passed the cars I needed to, got no damage, and had a well setup car.

I also note the Josh Boulton was another with a hard luck story, having won the first heat and passing a large portion of the field around the outside in the 2nd heat, Josh was on form, unfortunately after clipping another car and rolling over that was the end of his night I think it may have been a 1nz for him otherwise.

Good to see three Lovelady cars in the top 10 with me, Dennis Bolt in 8th and Emo in 6th.

Big congratulations to the top 3 - Steve Flynn NZ1, and hometown hero's Neville Wood NZ2 and Mark Carey NZ3, Top result guys and great drives.

Checkout below for full list of results from both qualifying and Finals

Big Thanks to all my crew, family and fans for your support over the weekend, unfortunately not the result we were looking for but hey as they say there is always next year.

This weekend we head to Woodford Glen for the NZ GP on Friday and the Hoopla on Saturday. This should be another cracker weekend of racing. check out www.woodfordglen.co.nz for the entries, groups and format etc.

Paddy
17 January 2012
Marlborough Express
15 January 2012
NZ Super Saloon Champs Finals
14 January 2012
NZ Super Saloon Champs Qualifying
NZ Super Saloon Champs
Unfortunately Friday nights qualifying was plagued by intermittent showers and none of the groups got to turn a wheel in anger. After an attempt by the White group to start their first heat was aborted, we had a half hour delay before the Red and Black groups went out to wheel pack, followed by the Stockcars going out for their second race. Following another shower, the Midgets went out for their first race but the track was too wet and the meeting was called. Hopefully the weather and speedway gods will give us a break tomorrow (Saturday) so we can complete qualifying and then the finals on Sunday.
2 January 2012
Nelson Super Saloon Club Champs
December Review
It's been a quite few weeks with a couple of rain outs. Early December saw the first two rounds of the Elf Super Cup Friday night in Blenheim and Saturday in Nelson, both were nights I'd rather forget as we ended up with a flat left front tire while sitting in 3rd or 4th position in the feature race on Friday and a left rear flat in the first heat in Nelson hence after two rounds I'm sitting in a disappointing 8th place. I guess I'll just have to pull finger in the next 3 rounds later in the season. For current Elf Super Cup results and points check out www.supersaloons.co.nz

Boxing Day we headed to the Glen for the annual Remembrance Champs. After winning this meeting last year and a shitty start to the season I was hopeful of a good result. Things were looking pretty good with a 2nd and a 4th in the first two races which left us a point behind of Ian Burson for first heading into the last heat. My hopes of a good result were just wishful thinking as we got mixed up in a first turn pile up!! Bugger, I managed to get going for a couple of laps but out came the black flag as we had sustained too much damage. From the infield I watched Burson fly round the outside of the rest of the field to second place well and truly securing him the top spot for the night. Fortunately I had enough points to secure 3rd overall with Josh Boulton coming home in 2nd.

Next up we head to Nelson for the Nelson Club Champs on the 2nd Jan. I am also the defending champ from last year for this meeting as well; hopefully we will fare better than the last few outings!! This will be our last meeting before the NZ Champs in Nelson on the 13th and 14th Jan. Will update with a preview of champs early January.

Paddy
26 December 2011
Remembrance Champs   -   Woodford Glen
3 December 2011
Elf Super Cup Round Two   -   Nelson
2 December 2011
Elf Super Cup Round One   -   Blenheim
30 November 2011
Blenheim Sun
New season rocks around
Well back into some updates now that we're back into the new season. The off season has been fairly quiet with a freshen up of the car and engine, a few minor changes to suspension and weight placement but nothing major to report

Saturday night was our first real meeting with the Canterbury champs at Woodford Glen, other than a rain shortened test run in Nelson the week prior. The first noticeable thing was how quick everyone was, ok some of the guy's had a couple of meetings under their belt but even the ones first time out for the season were on the pace. Noticeable changes are Ian Burson and Ray Stewart with new Hypermac cars, with Ian really on the pace and Ray only fist time out so had a few teething problems. The other big news is Brent Emerson two times NZ Champ driving the Lovelady house car Emmo's driving style brings another dimension to our southern tracks

We drew grid two for the 1st heat beside Josh Boulton off pole. Josh got the early lead and I held 2nd for most of the race before running high in the rough and lost two or three spots then Burson got me on the last lap so finished in 6th spot, a little disappointing to drop so many spots from a good position. Anyway on to race two off grid 10, made a couple of spots and was making reasonable progress moving forward when we had a Yellow for a rather big crash that took Emerson and Shane Carey out of the race, To my surprise I was put to the rear as the prime cause. Turns out Emmo was making an outside move on me as I also went wide causing him to run up the wall. Not sure what I would have done any differently if we run that race again, I guess it's just one of the disadvantages of not having eyes in the back of your head. Anyhow from the rear we made a few spots to finish 7th

Last heat was also a little disappointing as from grid 10 again we made a few spots, unfortunately given the very long race due to a few yellows we ran low on fuel causing the car to miss and lose power of the turns dropping us back to 8th Place and giving me a 5th place overall for the champs

Congratulations to 1st Place - Mike Verdoner, 2nd Josh Boulton and 3rd - Ian Burson

Was happy to take the car home in one piece but thought we could have done a little better on the night. Anyway onwards to the ELF Super Cup with round 1 at Eastern states in Blenheim Friday December 2nd and round 2 the next night in Nelson

Cheers Paddy
Canterbury Champs
Nelson
Auto & Marine Electrics BB Signs Beta Bins blackout.co.nz Chiller Transport Greg Hiddleston Race Engines Happy Weka Lovelady Race Cars
Marlborough Spraykote MD Freighting Red Top Wheelibins Skip Hire Waste Services Marlborough
website by blackout.co.nz