Paddy North Racing
46E Super Saloon
2009 - 2010 Season Reviews and Results
8 May 2010
2009-2010 Elf Super Cup
Dinner and Prizegiving
Elf Super Cup Dinner Pix
Pix
27 March 2010
Elf Super Cup
Round Five - Nelson
26 March 2010
Elf Super Cup
Round Four - Blenheim
25 March 2010
Marlborough Express
16 March 2010
Success for North down South
Eastern States Super Saloon driver Paddy North had a successful two nights racing last weekend in the NZ Super Saloon GP and the inaugural NZ Super Saloon Teams Champs at Island Park Speedway, Dunedin.

Friday night saw the Super Saloon GP run in cold, windy and at times rainy conditions, making the setting up cars to suit track conditions difficult and racing very demanding of drivers.

For qualifying, competitors were divided into two groups with each group scheduled to contest three heats, with the top nine points scorers from each group progressing through the final, and those not qualifying in the heats fighting it out in a repechage for the remaining two spots in the twenty-car Grand Prix final.

Starting the first heat off the back North battled rain and deteriorating track conditions to pass several cars before the ice-like track surface saw the race called off mid-distance and over an hour was lost waiting for the rain to stop and track to dry sufficiently to allow racing to recommence.

To comply with a 10.30pm noise curfew, organisers dropped the third round of qualifying heats and repechage, effectively ensuring all drivers would progress into the final, with qualifying points determining starting positions.

Starting off the back row in the first heat re-run, North passed several cars; only to drift to the rear as a fogged visor left him driving blind but with the fogging problem sorted North moved back through the field to finish 6th behind race winner Josh Boulton, with Steve Flynn 2nd and Shane Carey 3rd.

Weather and track conditions had improved for the second heat and starting off the front North diced with current 2NZ Shane McIntyre, South Island champion Trevor Elliot and Hawkes Bays Steve Flynn but in the closing laps a slowly deflating front tyre saw North forced to back off and settle for 4th behind McIntyre, Elliot and Flynn and 11th overall on points for a sixth row start in the twenty-three car NZ Super Saloon GP final.

Mid field isn't an ideal position to start a single race winner-take-all final but as things turned out, starting any closer to the front and North's race could've been over on the opening lap as a turn one spin by Steve Flynn at the front of the pack resulted in chaos for drivers following, and the multi-car pileup that ensued left five cars too damaged to restart including current New Zealand champion Brent Emerson, while in the middle of the pack North was able to thread the needle, coming through the on-track carnage relatively unscathed.

From the re-start a great drive by North saw make several passes on a slick track to finish the NZ Super Saloon GP in 5th place behind winner Ian Burson, with Josh Boulton 2nd, Shane McIntyre 3rd and Steve Williams 4th.

Strong gusting wind and the threat of rain greeted drivers for Saturday night's running of the inaugural NZ Super Saloon Teams Championship contested by eight regional four-car teams over eleven eight-lap qualifying races and a twenty-car final.

Blenheim was represented by the Lovelady All Stars, a team comprising of Paddy North, Brent Emerson and Josh and Bruce Boulton, all driving cars built by John Lovelady of Lovelady Race Cars.

Biggest threats to the Blenheim team's title chance would be the Waikato Warriors with current 2NZ Shane McIntyre, former 1NZ Steve Williams, Steve Flynn and Tony Williamson; the Canterbury Winners with Richie Taylor, Dennis Bolt, Trevor Elliot and Neil Robertson; and the Nelson Lions with Ian Burson, Ron Taylor and Shane and Mark Carey.

Unfortunately car problems kept Bruce Boulton from racing, reducing the Lovelady All Stars to three cars but still in with a realistic chance of taking out the title compliments of a format whereby the team whose first two cars placed 1st and 2nd or 1st and 3rd would win but a team whose first two cars placed 2nd and 3rd would take out the win over their opponents whose cars finished 1st and 4th.

Ideally a team would have two cars fighting for 1-2 or 2-3 positions and two cars covering, ready to move up into the first four should one or both lead cars drop out but with only three cars, the All Stars two lead cars still needed to fight for optimum top four positions but with a single car as cover, the third driver had to ensure he kept out of trouble yet secured and held on to fifth place.

Blenheim's first qualifying race was against Nelson and in a good tactical race with Emerson and Boulton charging hard up front and North covering, Blenheim took the race win.

The second qualifier was against Canterbury, with the winner to progress straight into the final. This race was a repeat of the first, with Emerson and Boulton running hard up front and North covering, they secured the win and a place in the final.

In the remainder of qualifying Waikato, Nelson, Canterbury and Central Otago progressed through to join Blenheim in the twenty-lap final, with the Championship winner being the first team to have two cars cross the finish line, and again tactics would play a major part in securing a win, with drivers needing to be aware of where their team-mates and opponents cars were placed relative to them.

Grid positions for the final saw Josh Boulton starting off the front on pole, Paddy North inside on the fourth row and Brent Emerson back on the eighth row. On the opening lap Boulton took the lead hotly pursued by Richie Taylor, Steve Williams and Shane Carey. Trapped on the inside with no way to break out, North slipped back through the field in the opening laps, and with Emerson near the back, the Blenheim team was positioned well outside of a podium finish.

In a passing move beginning on the back straight and on through turn three, a move that defied all laws of physics and gravity, Emerson went from near the back of the field, around the outside and into fourth place.

Finally clear of the pole line North pushed hard back through the field and into seventh place, covering Boulton and Emerson who held their first and fourth places respectively to the finish line and the Championship win for the Blenheim team. Second were Canterbury, third Waikato, fourth Nelson and fifth Central Otago.

Paddy North races next at Eastern States Speedway on Friday 26 March in the penultimate round of the ELF Super Cup, a five-round South Island Super Saloon series featuring sixteen of the south's top Super Saloon drivers. Paddy's currently placed third overall in the series behind Christchurch's Richie Taylor and Josh Boulton. For more on the ELF Super Cup visit www.supersaloons.co.nz

The Lovelady All Stars
All Stars Paddy North, Josh Boulton and Brent Emerson with manager John Lovelady

Spoils of Victory
27 February 2010
Elf Super Cup
Round Three - Woodford Glen
13 February 2010
South Island Super Saloon Championship - Woodford Glen
Cocking a leg
Head down arse up
Starting from Grid 9 46e managed to cock a leg on the way to a 3rd place finish in Heat One

Heat Two win
A Heat Two win for 46e after starting from Grid 2
13 January 2010
Here we are in the sunny Hawkes Bay for the 30 lapper HB champs tonight. Looks like a good quality field although not large we should have about 12 cars with 1nz and 2nz both entered. Burson, Ron Taylor and myself from the South.

Hopefully it is a good night.

I will update on results as soon as I find the next internet cafe as we head towards Wellington for the Wellington Super Saloon Champs on Saturday night.

Cheers
Paddy
9 January 2010
New Zealand Super Saloon Championship - Finals Night
Congratulations to the new 1, 2 and 3 NZ guys great effort and great racing.

Not a great night for us, we needed to finish in the top 2 in the repechage to qualify for the finals. We were up 2nd race and the track was extremely wet and in my opinion not safe to race on. Unfortunately I was disqualified for apparently "deliberately stopping the race". I was sent to the infield and not allowed to finish the race, and no way of making the top twenty.

I raced in the non qualifier races, and watched some awesome racing from the top 20.

I was pretty disappointed with the weekend but luck is a big part of this game, we all have good nights and bad nights, this goes down as a particularly bad one for me, but I look onwards and upwards to a better night for our midweek show in Napier on Wednesday 13th.

Cheers
Paddy
8 January 2010
New Zealand Super Saloon Championship - Qualifying
Were not off to the best of starts, we didn't manage to qualify last night, first race were a bit behind the eight ball and ended up dropping back three places to finish 6th. Second race we blew a power steering hose which made life extremely difficult for a while, 3rd and 4th heats were also pretty average. End result we was 6th equal on points with only the top 6 from each group going to the finals, I ended up in a runoff with 16a Gary Edwards for that spot, unfortutunately we lost that mainly due to the wet track surface. Anyway we now need to go to the repechage tonite, due to being the highest non qualifier we start from grid 1. Hopefully we can pull this off and get through to the top twenty.

Generally I'm pretty happy with the car, just can't seem to make the passes I need to. Track slicked off pretty bad after first round. Some bad luck for fellow South Island racers Richie Taylor who blew his engine in the 1st heat of his group, and Ray Stewart who rolled and wrecked his car. The other south Island cars of Burson, Carey, Ronnie Taylor, Bolt and Verdona all seem to be on the case with them all making it through to the top 20.

Anyway time to go and get the car ready for tonite.

Cheers
Paddy
7 January 2010
Well, since my last update our entry to the NZ Champs has been accepted. Great news. So the transporter is loaded and were ready to head down to the ferry for the sailing to Wellington and on up to Turangi tonight, before heading to Huntly tomorrow for qualifying tomorrow night.

I'm quietly confident of a good result, I'm feeling some good progress with both the car and myself. We'll just have to see what the track holds up like and how much of the old luck is on our side.

We raced Nelson last week had a win in heat one, which turned out to be our only race of the night with race 2 being called off after a first lap pile up in lap 1. Then the rain came in and that was the night!

Anyway better get on the road, will try to get an update through after qualifying Friday night.

Cheers
Paddy
26 December 2009
Remembrance Champs - Woodford Glen
23 December 2009
December Update
Well here we go back into a new season, been a bit slack with updates lately but not really much to report. Had a few hold-ups with parts etc with the engine rebuild which set us back a few weeks, but all go now.

1st meeting up was the ELF super cup rounds in Dunedin and Cromwell on the 4th & 5th December, was reasonably happy with our results for our first outing this season. We are sitting 4th after these two rounds. Full results and future round details can be found at www.supersaloons.co.nz

The following two weekends we ran at Blenheim, and Nelson respectively, Nelson was South Island Stockcars and a big congratulations to fellow eastern states racers Ralph Gillespie and Tim Alexander for their 1st and 2nd placing's. As for my nights we were trying some different setups looking for some more go fast, especially on the slicker tracks, without much luck I must add, so back to the drawing board I think.

Next up will be Woodford Glen on Boxing Day for their annual remembrance champs, then probably Nelson on the 2nd before we head up the North Island for a couple of shows at Napier then Wellington, unfortunately that won't include the NZ Champs at Huntly as my entry was declined for missing the cut-off date, I'm 4th on the backup list so its not looking very hopeful. They mustn't like me much up there as I was also declined entry into the Waikato Super Saloon champs last weekend.

Should get some more regular updates happening now that we're back into it. Merry Christmas and happy speedway watching over the holiday period.
5 December 2009
Elf Super Cup
Round Two - Cromwell
4 December 2009
Elf Super Cup
Round One - Dunedin
Auto & Marine Electrics BB Signs Beta Bins blackout.co.nz Chiller Transport Greg Hiddleston Race Engines Happy Weka Lovelady Race Cars
Marlborough Spraykote MD Freighting Red Top Wheelibins Skip Hire Waste Services Marlborough
website by blackout.co.nz